email facebook twitter google+ linkedin pinterest
LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Calendar and info >
X Close

Gershwin Piano Quartet

Bernstein, Ravel, Brahms, Schubert,....

RécitalThe 1920s


The Gershwin Piano Quartet was created in 1996 by André Desponds. This unusual gathering of four pianos is not only dedicated to the music of George Gershwin but also includes classical pieces, jazz standards and Broadway musicals in its virtuoso concerts, thus creating a spectacular pianistic dialogue between different musical genres. In LuganoMusica, the Quartet will present Gershwin's popular Rhapsody in Blue, along with works by French composer Maurice Ravel, who was a great admirer of Gershwin. A transcription of Paul Dukas' symphonic poem The Sorcerer's Apprentice, a Hungarian Rhapsody by Brahms, an improvisation on Chopin, a rendering of Michael Jackson's Bad and excerpts from West Side Story - as a tribute to the centenary of Leonard Bernstein's birth - will complete the programme.

Paul Dukas
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

Franz Schubert
Serenata, from Schwanengesang, D 957

Johannes Brahms
Hungarian Rhapsody

Maurice Ravel
Les entretiens de la belle et de la bête, from Ma Mère l’Oye
La Valse

George Gershwin
Rhapsody in Blue

André Desponds
Improvisation on Chopin’s Etude No. 1 in C major, op. 10

Michael Jackson

Leonard Bernstein
Excerpts from West Side Story
Prologue – Scherzo
A Boy Like That – I Have a Love
Cha-Cha – Maria