email facebook twitter google+ linkedin pinterest
LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Calendar and info >
X Close

Orchestre des Champs-Elysées

Philippe Herreweghe conductor / Isabelle Faust violin

OrchestraConcert Presentation


In twenty-five years of activity, the Orchestre des Champs-Elysées has become a reference in the field of historically informed performances, through a vast repertoire ranging from Bach to Mahler. Along with its Artistic and Music Director, Flemish conductor Philippe Herreweghe, the Parisian orchestra with a European profile (gathering musicians of different nationalities and cultures) will present two masterpieces of the 19th-century symphonic repertoire: Robert Schumann's Second Symphony and the Violin Concerto composed by his favourite successor, Johannes Brahms. German violinist Isabelle Faust will advantageously keep in tune with the modern approach to this prestigious evening.

Johannes Brahms
Concert for violin and orchestra in D major, op. 77

Robert Schumann
Symphony n. 2 in C major, op. 61