email facebook twitter google+ linkedin pinterest
LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Calendar and info >
X Close

15 March


LAC Teatrostudio

© Nikolaj Lund

Artemis Quartet

Vineta Sareika violin / Anthea Kreston violin / Gregor Sigl viola /Eckart Runge cello

String quartets


Founded in 1989 in Lübeck, the Artemis Quartet is now based in Berlin. Its members count among the most prestigious teachers at the Berlin University of the Arts and the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel in Brussels. The new line-up (violinists Vineta Sareika and Suyoen Kim, violist Gregor Sigl and cellist Harriet Krijgh) will perform in Lugano Samuel Barber's famous Adagio, initially composed as the second movement of the Quartet Op. 11, and Benjamin Britten's Second Quartet. The second part of the concert will be devoted to one of Schubert's absolute masterpieces, the Quartet in D minor, otherwise known as Death and the Maiden.

Samuel Barber
Adagio from the String Quartet, Op. 11

Benjamin Britten
String Quartet No. 2, Op. 36

Franz Schubert
String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, D 810 Death and the Maiden