email facebook twitter google+ linkedin pinterest
LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura
Calendar and info >
X Close

23 March


LAC Sala Teatro

Concert's sponsor


POSTPONED - City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, conductor / Gabriela Montero, piano


Raminta Šerkšnytė
De profundis

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor, op. 23

Johannes Brahms
Symphony No. 3 in F major, op. 90

Lithuanian conductor Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla made her debut in Birmingham in 2015, showing at the age of thirty-three a rare talent that led to her appointment as Andris Nelsons' successor as music director of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Mirga enthuses the audience wherever she conducts, just like Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero. This artist, particularly appreciated by Martha Argerich, demonstrates the full scope of her talent in the classical repertoire but also shows a refined taste for improvisation in the encores that conclude her concerts. Raminta Šerkšnytė's De Profundis will serve as a prelude to Tchaikovsky's famous First Piano Concerto and Brahms' resolute Third Symphony.