Watch the concert

Ruth Killius, viola

Even if the literature for viola solo cannot compete with the violin or the cello's repertoire, the fascination for the instrument's soft and warm tone has gone unscathed through the centuries, until the viola finally established itself and acquired its own individuality in the last century. Ruth Killius will demonstrate this by presenting some of the cornerstones of the viola's revival during the 20th-century. These include the Hindemith and Zimmermann Sonatas and the Berio Sequenza. He will also premiere a new work by Nadir Vassena, dedicated to the memory of Erik Oña, the great Argentinean composer recently deceased.


Paul Hindemith
Sonata for viola sola, op. 25 n.1

György Kurtág
Jelek, op. 5

Fabian Müller
Munchs Traum(a), first execution for viola version

Georg Philipp Telemann
Fantasia n. 5 in A major, from Dodici fantasie per violino solo

Nadir Vassena
Trenodia magica, worldwide première

Bernd Alois Zimmermann
Sonata for viola sola

Luciano Berio
Sequence VI for viola