Friday 10 February


Belcea Quartet
Corina Belcea
, violin
Axel Schacher, violin
Krzysztof Chorzelski, viola
Antoine Lederlin, cello

Franz Schubert
String Quartet No. 10 in E-flat Major, D 87

Guillaume Connesson
Les instants retrouvés

Claude Debussy
String Quartet in G minor, op. 10 L 91

The musicians of the Belcea Quartet met at the Royal College of Music in London in 1994.

Violinist Corina Belcea is from Romania and violist Krzysztof Chorzelski from Poland, whereas violinist Axel Schacher and cellist Antoine Lederlin are both from France. “Since we started working with Antoine and Axel, I have noticed how much more meticulous our rehearsals have become, how much the quality of sound and the variety of colours and expressions have improved. Corina and I have the fiery temperament of Eastern Europeans; our playing is driven by our intensity. I think our French colleagues added a palette of colours and nuances to what would have otherwise been a very expressive but monochrome performance,” Krzysztof Chorzelski said in an interview.

A unique combination of European influences and a remarkable versatility enables the Belcea Quartet to tackle any repertoire with the same impetus, from contemporary to the great composers of the classical and romantic periods. Their stylistic signature lies in their extraordinary ability to treasure their differences and seize all opportunities for comparison and growth.