Sunday 12 February


Quartetto d'archi della Scala
Francesco Manara
, violin
Daniele Pascoletti, violin
Simonide Braconi, viola
Massimo Polidoro, cello

Franz Joseph Haydn
String Quartet in F major, Op. 76 No. 3, Hob. III:77, Kaiserquartett

Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet No. 16 in F Major, Op. 135

Johannes Brahms
String Quartet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 51 No. 1

The origins of the La Scala String Quartet date back to 1953, when the principal string players of the orchestra attached to the world's most famous opera house wanted to deepen the string quartet repertoire. After an interruption of a few years, Francesco Manara (violin), Daniele Pascoletti (violin), Simonide Braconi (viola) and Massimo Polidori (cello) decided in 2001 to revive this prestigious ensemble. Over the years, they have collaborated with pianists such as Bruno Canino, Jeffrey Swann, Angela Hewitt and Bruno Campanella and are guests in Italy's leading festivals.

“The beauty of the sound and the precious cantabile, typical of those who are also familiar with the world of opera, ensure that one can listen to the ensemble with particular joy and emotion,” is how conductor Riccardo Muti describes the uniqueness of this chamber ensemble. The quartet's exciting interpretations compile all the experiences the four musicians have matured, creating the sound world into which the greatest opera voices plunge daily.