Past event

17 October 2023

Sala Teatro


Ton Koopman
Members of the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra

Johann Sebastian Bach
Musical Offering, BWV 1079
Sinfonia from the Cantata in B minor, BWV 209 Non sa che sia dolore
Concerto for 2 harpsichords and orchestra in C minor, BWV 1062

Listening to Ton Koopman talk about Johann Sebastian Bach's music, it is hard not to be won over by his enthusiasm, by the excitement of a Maestro who still finds the same irrepressible joy in the repertoire he has worked on all his life.

And after all, it is impossible not to be enchanted when he conducts this music at the head of the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, which he founded in 1979 to delve into the Baroque repertoire of which Bach is the summit. On the one hand, there is the philological attention of a performance that considers the historical context, on the other, the lightness and passion with which some of the greatest masterpieces are delivered back to the public.

Regarding Bach, Koopman said in an interview with the Guardian: "His music is so rich and complex that every time I perform it, I discover something new. I think that the fact that it never ceases to surprise and inspire me, even after years of study and performance, is one of the greatest beauties. In my opinion, this is one of the reasons why Bach remains one of the greatest composers in the history of music."

The programme brings together some of the greatest examples of Bach's musical genius, from the extraordinary fourteen sonatas, canons and fugues included in the Musical Offering to two pieces requiring great technical and expressive virtuosity from the harpsichordist.